What Does God Require Of Us?

ImageI (Emma) would like to share a story with you. It comes from a friend of mine, a great man of God I have come to know over the past year.

He has this very subtle sense of humour that my guess is, is often overlooked.

He has a sort of charm that is unprecedented.

And, he suffers from Chronic Fatigue Syndrome.

Due to his illness, he is often the sort of person you wouldn’t take much notice of in a crowd. Just your average man.

But I have come to realise that his pearls of wisdom and life experience cannot be discounted – even by his illness.

This is his story:

“I have Chronic Fatigue Syndrome (CFS) which God is healing me from.

At the beginning of July I went to the Student Life Mid Year Conference for six days and five nights.

The night before the conference, I didn’t sleep well because of excitement. Once I was at the conference, I didn’t sleep much either due to alarms going off before 6am and nightly activities in my cabin disrupting my sleep.

For the six days, I was active with scheduled activities from 7am in the morning until after 10pm at night every day.

Usually, by the end of a strenuous week like that, I could have expected to feel like death warmed up. I would have been in a great deal of pain with my whole body aching and my brain in a fog.

But this time, even though I was a bit tired, I coped well. I even found that I was less tired than some of the other conference-goers, who do not suffer from CFS.

I was supernaturally sustained for the conference.

When I returned  to Sydney, I resumed my normal composure and I continue to feel wiped out after a few hours of standing and working.”

I (Emma again!) love this story!

It teaches me that God does not require anything more than my obedience and faithfulness.

It shows me that I do not need to ‘feel’ like the perfect Christian to be used and sustained by Him!

It reminds me that I am a hopeless sinner, a faithless mess. But oh, what an amazing Saviour Jesus is that He sees the value in even me – with my faults and failures, He still can use me!

Be encouraged by my friend’s story. As I watch him live faithfully for Christ everyday, I certainly am!

“He has shown you, Oh man, what is good; and what does the Lord require of you, but to do justly, to love mercy and walk humbly with your God?”

– Micah 6:8

Leave a Reply

