Meet The Team: Andrew Mellor

ImageQ. When and how did you get involved with Student Life?
It was all about the Chupa Chups at O-Week, freebies attracted me, great friends and an excitement about Jesus made me stay.

Q. What exactly is it you do with Student Life?
I oversee Student Life on Campuses around the city centre, USYD, UNSW, ACU, Notre Dame and UTS

Q. What do you hope to achieve by working with Student Life?
I love seeing students find the true value of their lives in God’s eyes. My hope is that thousands of men and women will say uni was where they found their true purpose and meaning in life. That Jesus became their life long friend and motivation.

Q. Tell us about the hurdles you have been able to overcome in order to reach students for Christ?
Fear of talking to people I don’t know, worrying about whether others perceive me and of course the inertia of stating something new.

Q. What is the most inspiring book and Bible passage you cling to? Why does it speak to you so much?
A book called “God’s Smuggler” inspired me to live the adventure of following Jesus and 1 Corinthians 15:58 was given to me as a special word of encouragement by a Bible Study leader when I started full time work with Student Life:
“Therefore, my dear brothers and sisters, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labour in the Lord is not in vain.”

Andrew is also the host of the Winning In Sexual Integrity blog, which you can find here: http://winninginsexualintegrity.com/ and on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/winningintegrity

Leave a Reply

