Meet The Team: Emarosa Romeo

Image

Q. When and how did you get involved with Student Life?
In February 2012 I met Natasha and Amelia [SL leaders] at Broadway one evening and they introduced me to Student Life.

Q. In what capacity is your involvement?
At the moment, I am involved with most of the Student Life activities. I am part of SWAG [Sydney Women’s Action Group] I also co-led the Thursday core group with Kenny. In addition, I attend KV [Key Volunteers] and weekly meetings whenever possible.

Q. What do you hope to achieve by working with Student Life?
I hope to see more students getting to know Jesus and to begin a relationship with God.

Q. Tell us about the hurdles you have been able to overcome in order to reach students for Christ?
The main difficulty I face when trying to talk to students about Jesus is having the courage to start up a spiritual conversation. I also have a fear of not being able to answer questions the students may ask me.

Q. What is the most inspiring Bible passage you cling to? Why does it speak to you so much?
I really love the book of James. When we studied it in core group in 2012, I realised it really speaks to me about the joy of being tested (spiritually and academically) and how to treat everyone equally.

Q. How has your walk with God been strengthened by the wealth of experience you gained on Summer Project?
Going on Summer Project strengthened my walk with God as I continued to learn to rely more on God to help me when approaching various students with different beliefs. Summer Project also challenged me to have more courage to speak to students about God and continue listening to the Holy Spirit and His calling for me.

Leave a Reply

