Meet The Team: Jess Muir

IMG_8549Q. When and how did you get involved with Student Life?
My sister had been involved in Student Life before me and told me to get involved so when I came to uni that’s what I did. This is my fourth year at uni and fourth year in Student Life. It’s been an amazing time.

Q. What do you hope to achieve by working with Student Life?
I want to know God more and see Him transform people’s lives as He’s done in mine. In God there is hope and life. He changes people.

Q. Tell us about the hurdles Student Life has helped you overcome.
I have a real relationship with God which is awesome. I think a major thing that Student Life has helped me with is my confidence. When I started uni I couldn’t put into words what I believed and I was scared to talk about God with my friends. Being around Christians who are passionate to see God glorified and having them take me under their wing has grown me up a lot. I can now trust God when I’m talking with people about Him as I know that He loves the person so much more than I do and He wants them to know Him.

Q. What is the most memorable moment you’ve had working with Student Life?
There have been many memorable moments with Student Life. One very memorable moment occurred on the summer mission trip down to Lorne in Victoria where we helped schoolies and shared Jesus with them. A conversation which stands out is one with an atheist. It was amazing to see God working in this young man’s life. The conversation started out as many do, with tension and a bit of aggression, but by listening to this man and chatting with him for a while, he finally wanted to hear the good news of Christ. He went from aggression to interest!! This memory makes me happy because quite often the way someone has been treated by Christians or the church leads them to become atheists, which is a terrible thing. God uses us and I pray that every Christian will see and live in God’s love for us and others.

Q. In times of trouble, what is your go-to passage in the Bible?
I would have to say Psalm 84. There’s so much in it, verse 10 is very cool. “Better is one day in your courts than a thousand elsewhere; I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God than dwell in the tents of the wicked.” It’s like ‘take that Satan, you can’t offer me anything and it’s nothing compared to God’.

*Jess has now graduated from the University of Sydney and has moved away from Sydney to pursue a pharmaceutical career. We wish her well, and will miss her greatly*

Leave a Reply

