Meet The Team: Geoff Folland

Image

1.When and how did you get involved with Student Life?

I arrived at Sydney Uni looking to join a group that would help me grow in my faith. I got involved with Student Life when someone asked me to do a quick quiz and then met up with me afterward to invite me to join a small group. That was at the beginning of 1988.

2.What exactly is your role with Student Life?

I am the State Director of NSW and I lead the Sydney Uni ministry.

3.Tell us about the hurdles you have been able to overcome in order to reach fellow students for Christ?

I grew up as a squeaky clean church kid and I didn’t know how to make friends with people outside of church. That’s something Student Life really helped me with. I also found that busyness – both mine and students – is a huge barrier.

4.What is the most inspiring book and Bible passage you cling to?

My favourite verse is Galatians 5:6b “The only thing that counts is faith expressing itself through love.”

5. What has been your most memorable moment working with Student Life?

I remember sitting in a huge auditorium at an international conference with thousands and thousands of people from all over the world all committed to helping fulfill the Great Commission and I had a glimpse of what is described in the book of Revelation where people from every tribe and tongue and nation join together to worship Jesus. It’s easy to forget how big God is when we sit in one place.

Leave a Reply

