Meet The Team: Melissa Tang

Image

1.When and how did you get involved with Student Life?

I got connected with Student Life through a friend in my first year of uni in 2010. I signed up at O-week, nervously went along to a core group and then found I loved being in a community of young people who genuinely loved Jesus.

2.What exactly is your role with Student Life?

I started working as a full-time missionary on campus in 2014. My role includes giving others the opportunity to hear about Jesus, discipling girls on campus and equipping them to know how to share their faith.

3.Tell us about the hurdles you have been able to overcome in order to reach fellow students for Christ?

I grew up as a ‘closet’ Christian during most of high school, wanting to blend in with those around me, and so talking about God and spiritual issues has always felt really unnatural for me. My faith has become a lot more personal in the past few years and Student Life was amazing in giving me a greater heart for people and in providing training and support as I learned how this fit in with my everyday relationships. I’m still learning, but God has helped me to be more intentional and has shown me that He can use anyone for His glory!

4.What is the most inspiring book and Bible passage you cling to? Why does it speak to you so much?

Philippians 4:4-7 – it reminds me to rejoice in God despite my circumstances and that I can come before Him with every feeling or situation and will find peace in Him.

5. What has been your most memorable moment working with Student Life?

Hmm, well I’ve only just started working there this year, but as a student I’d say one would be my first short-term mission trip (‘Summer Project’). Living in a community of believers for 2 weeks was like a taste of heaven, and we were so excited each time we got to share the Gospel with someone or someone decided to follow Jesus. It was my first time doing anything like this and I came out the other end feeling so much more equipped and excited for serving God.

Leave a Reply

